Home > Departments > Mechanical and Biosystems Engineering 

Mechanical and Biosystems Engineering


Mechanical Engineering of Biosystem is an affilation of higher education system that utilizes engineering principles and methods to eliminate barriers or improve processes in biological systems and agriculture. The use of modern technologies in biological systems, the design and upgrading of the equipment needed by the agricultural sector, the study and development of renewable energy sources, and the development of post-harvest processes and technologies are among the most important issues adderessed by bio-system engineering.
This department began its activity at graduate level in 1982 and for the first time in Iran it began to offer doctoral program in 1988. The BioSystem Mechanical Engineering Department strives to provide students with the necessary skills to provide specialized staff for research, industrial and educational centers. Since its establishment, this department has managed to educate many graduates, most of whom are now serving as faculty members at various universities all over the country. In the past 5 years, the faculty members of this department have succeessfully performed numerous research projects, registered 33 patent titles, published 5 books and more than 200 articles in international journals, and presented more than 250 papers at scientific conferences (domestic and foreign).

bullet Objectives

  • Training professionals in different areas related to mechanical engineering of bio-system.
  • Providing proper educational and research programs in order to make optimal changes in agriculture, especially engineering equipment tailored to the needs of the country
  • Implementing research projects related to the needs of the labor market and consistent with macroeconomic policies and programs of the country

bullet Heads of ther department in chrolnological order

  • Dr. Teymour Tavakoli (1983-1993)
  • Dr. Saeed Minaee (1993- 1995)
  • Dr. Barat Ghobadiyan (1995-1997)
  • Dr. Mohammad Hadi Khosh Taghaza (1997- 2004)
  • Dr. Gholam Hussein Najafi (2004-2006)
  • Dr. saeed Minaee (2006- 2007)
  • Dr. Mohammad Hadi Khosh Taghaza (2007 ? now)