Home > Departments > Agricultural Extension and Education 

Agricultural Extension and Education


TMU’s Department of Agricultural Extension and Education began its activity in the academic year 1986-7 with the assistance of several professors in the field of agricultural extension and education. The department presently has five full-time faculty members, including one associate professor and four assistant professors who have studied at the best national / international universities. Two graduate students were the first applicants of the department who registered in 1986. During the first decade of the department’s activity, a significant number of the graduates of this department were recruited by state universities as faculty members, a trend which has continued more or less in recent years. In 2009, this department set up the Ph.D. degree in agricultural extension and education. Since its foundation, over 240 master and 15 doctorate students have graduated from this department. There are currently 15 graduate and 25 Ph.D. students studying in this department. In the academic year of 2016-7, the Rural Development program at master level was set up at the Department and began to admit students in the following year. It should be noted that due to the revisions made by the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, the title of the field of agricultural extension and education was changed to "sustainable agricultural education and extension" in 2016. The sub-disciplines at master level include: “Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resources Promotion”, “Sustainable Agriculture and Environment”, "human ecosystem and agriculture”, “Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Agriculture " and the following programs are offered at Ph.D. level. “Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resources Promotion" and " Sustainable Agriculture and the Environment”.
The list of the heads of the department in a chronological order is presented below:

  1. Acting dean of the faculty (1986- 1990)
  2. Dr. Mohammad Chizari (1990- 1997)
  3. Dr. Hassan Sedighi (1997- 2000)
  4. Dr. Gholamreza Pezeshkirad (2000- 2002)
  5. Dr. Mohammad Chizari (2002 – 2003)
  6. Dr. Hassan Sedighi (2003 – 2005)
  7. Dr. Mohammad Chizari (2005- 2008)
  8. Dr. Gholamreza Pezeshkirad (2008- 2010)
  9. Dr. Hassan Sedighi (2010- 2014)
  10. Dr. Enayat Abbasi (2014 – now)